EU expanded targeted sanctions over situation in eastern Ukraine

The European Union has expanded targeted sanctions due to the deteriorating situation in eastern Ukraine, adding 11 more people to the “black list.”

Such a decision was made by the Council of the European Union on Friday.

“In view of the gravity of the situation in Eastern Ukraine, the Council has today expanded the list of persons subject to targeted sanctions for actions undermining Ukraine’s territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence,” the EU said.

In particular, another 11 persons responsible for and supporting such activities in eastern Ukraine will be targeted with a travel ban and a freeze of their assets within the EU.

This brings the number of individuals subject to sanctions in connection with Ukraine’s territorial integrity to 72. At the same time, two confiscated entities in Crimea and Sevastopol remain under asset freeze.

The legal texts with the list of persons concerned will be published on Saturday in the EU Official Journal and will enter into force at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *